News of the Olympic Movement > Elections >

2004 - Elections

2004 – Romania
Octavian Morariu, 45, former President of the National Sport Agency, former President of the Rugby N.F., member of the (Rugby) FIRA-AER Administrative Board, and Ioan Dobrescu, 48, Honorary President of the Basketball N.F., former Secretary of State at the Ministry of Youth and Sports, former Vice-President of the UNESCO Inter-Department Committee for Physical Education and Sport, were elected respectively President and Secretary General of the Romanian Olympic Committee.

17 December 2004 – Belgium
Pierre-Olivier Beckers was elected President of the Belgian Olympic and Interfederal Committee.

15 December 2004 – Palau
Frank Kyota was elected President of the Palau National Olympic Committee and Baklai Temengil was re-elected Secretary General.

15 December 2004 – Andorra
Jaume Martí Mandicó and Manuel Fernández Hermoso were re-elected respectively President and Secretary General of the Andorra Olympic Committee.

26 November 2004 – Philippines
Jose Conjuangco Jr. was elected President and Stephen C. Hontiveros was appointed Secretary General of the Philippine Olympic Committee.

25 November 2004 – Barbados
Steve Stoute and Erskine Simmons were re-elected respectively President and Secretary General of the Barbados Olympic Association.

23 November 2004 – Malta
Justice Lino Farrugia Sacco and Joseph Cassar were re-elected respectively President and Secretary General of the Malta Olympic Committee.

22 November 2004 – Armenia
Gagik Tsarukyan was elected President of the National Olympic Committee of Armenia.

20 November 2004 – Slovakia
Jozef Liba, 41, Doctor of Paedagogy, was elected Secretary General of the Slovak Olympic Committee.

11 November 2004 – Estonia
Mart Siimann and Toomas Tönise were re-elected respectively President and Secretary General of the Estonian Olympic Committee.

5 November 2004 – Switzerland
Walter Kägi and Martin Rutishauser were re-elected respectively President and Secretary General of the Swiss Olympic Association.

4 November 2004 – Tonga
David Tevita Tupou was re-elected President of the Tonga Sports Association and National Olympic Committee, and Po'oi Puloka was elected Secretary General.

3 November 2004 – Great Britain
IOC Member Craig Reedie was re-elected as Chairman of the British Olympic Association; he was first elected to this post in 1992. Mr Reedie is also a member of ANOC's Executive Council since 2002.

1 November 2004 – India
Suresh Kalmadi was re-elected President of the Indian Olympic Association and Raja Randhir Singh retained the post of Secretary General.

29 October 2004 – Puerto Rico
Hector Cardona was re-elected President of the Puerto Rico Olympic Committee. Ms Acacia Rojas, a Doctor in Medicine, President of the Handball N.F., was the first woman to be elected Vice-President of this NOC.

25 October 2004 – Chile
Neven Ivan Ilic Alvarez and Juan Carlos Cardenas Gueudinot were elected respectively President and Secretary General of the Chile Olympic Committee.

23 October 2004 – Eritrea
Ghirmay Hadgu and Berhane Ghebremariam were elected respectively President and Secretary General of the Eritrean National Olympic Committee. Mr Ghirmay Hadgu was previously Secretary General of the NOC.

20 October 2004 – Oman
H.E. Ali Masoud Al-Sunaidy, Minister of Sports Affairs, was elected President of the Oman Olympic Committee.

16 October 2004 – Haiti
Jean-Edouard Baker was re-elected President and Alain Jean-Pierre elected Secretary General of the Olympic Committee of Haiti.

7 October 2004 – Abdoulie Touray CGF Vice-President
Abdoulie Touray, General Secretary of the NOC of Gambia was elected Vice-President for Africa of the Commonwealth Games Federation.

11 August 2004 - Mario Vázquez Raña re-elected NOCs representative in IOC E.B.
IOC member Mario Vázquez Raña, President of ANOC, was re-elected by the IOC Session in Athens as the National Olympic Committees' representative on the International Olympic CommitteeEexecutive Commission.

10 August - Gunilla Lindberg IOC Vice-President
Gunilla Lindberg, General Secretary of the Swedish NOC and General Secretary of ANOC was elected by the IOC Session to the vice-presidency of the International Olympic Committee.

15th June 2004 - New U.S.O.C. Board
The new 11-member Board of Directors of the United States Olympic Committee has just been named, and held its first meeting on June 15th in Colorado Springs.
The Board membership has been reduced to less than a tenth of its former size, now including :
* Board Chairman Peter Ueberroth, holder of the Gold Olympic Order, President of the Los Angeles 1984 Olympic Games Organizing Committee, Managing Director of an investment and management company, Coca-Cola Co. Board member, a competitor in the 1956 US Olympic Waterpolo trials.
* three IOC members :
- Anita DeFrantz, 1976 Olympic Rowing bronze medallist, FISA Vice-President, President of the Amateur Athletic Foundation, Los Angeles, grad Political Philosophy and Law.
- James Easton, FITA President, Chairman and CEO of an international sporting goods company, grad. Engineering.
- Robert Ctvrtlik, three-time Olympian in Volleyball, WADA Foundation Board member, grad. Business Administration.
* four members from the sports community :
- Jair K. Lynch, 1996 Olympian silver medallist on the Parallel Bars, a real estate development specialist, grad. Civil Engineering and Urban design.
- Mary McCagg, two-time Rowing Olympian, 1995 PanAmerican gold medallist, an Assistant Publishing Manager, grad. Psychology.
- Michael Plant, member of the 1980 US Speedskating team, currently UCI Executive Committee member, former Executive director of the US Canoe-Kayak team, former President of the Goodwill Games
- James McCarthy, former US Ski and Snowboard representative on the USOC Board, Assistant Chef de Mission to Salt Lake City 2002 Winter Games, Board member of a bank holding company.
* three independent members :
- Harold T. Shapiro, President Emeritus and Professor of Economics and Public Affairs, Princeton University.
- Erroll Davis Jr, Chairman, President and CEO of Alliant Energy, a holding company, grad. Electrical Engineering and MBA.
- Stephanie Streeter, Chairman, President and CEO of a global marketing company., grad. Political Science.

27th May 2004
I.O.C. - FIVB President resigns as IOC member

Rubén Acosta, President of the International Volley-Ball Federation, has resigned as member of the International Olympic Committee, having reached the age limit for the post, to which he was elected in the year 2000.

4th June 2004 - Elections in the NOCs
P.D.R. Korea

The General Assembly of the Olympic Committee of the People's Democratic Republic of Korea held on March 14, 2004 unanimously elected Mr MUN Jae Dok as President of the NOC.
The former President Mr. Pak Myong Chol is leaving sports for professional reasons.

15th May 2004 : Vidhya Lakhan, Vice-President of Fiji NOC
The NOC of Fiji (FASANOC) has on the occasion of its annual General Assembly in Fiji acknowledged Mr Vidhya Lakhan's contribution to FASANOC during his term as Honorary Secretary General. Mr Lakhan served in this position for the maximum four two-year terms and now begins a new role as Vice President.

  • News of the Olympic Movement > Elections >
  • 2010 - 2011 Elections
  • 2009 - Elections
  • 2008 - Elections
  • 2007 - Elections
  • 2006 - Elections